Gettin’ down with your bad self

Sometimes y’just gotta get dooown with your bad self. I know, I know, we all are trying to be so good all the time and that is an admirable pursuit and tra la la and yaay for us. Trouble is, sometimes we make a mistake. Sometimes we trip and fall. Sometimes we’re just not looking.

Sometimes we are looking, only we’re looking waaay too hard.

This is me.

I want so bad to be good that I get all mad at myself when I falter. When I do something I didn’t want to do (stay up late when I intended to sleep) or don’t do something I did want to do (get something accomplished). I want to be there yet I’m here. Why am I still here? What’s wrong with me that I’m not there?

But getting mad doesn’t help. Matter of fact, getting mad is the perfect recipe for stuck.

When we set the GPS in the car, do we get mad at the car because it’s on the street it’s on? Does the GPS ask, “Where are we now? I need to know! Why are we here?” No. The GPS asks, “Where do you want to go?” It knows where you are. And it will tell you where to go.

Our guts are like that. They know.

Today I was doing something and I noticed this tension in my core. I thought, “Wo! Stop!” Pay attention to those feelings, they know. Are you forcing something which would be better off done later … or perhaps not at all?

Could be. Take a look. Check in.

And while you’re at it, give your bad self a break! Let go of the wheel and you’ll get where you’re going.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Share on Facebook :: Very special thanks to Elyse Hope Killoran for the GPS metaphor :: Photo courtesy of Ian Britton (beautiful, huh? 😉

~ by gigablonde on July 30, 2008.

3 Responses to “Gettin’ down with your bad self”

  1. Wow…very good “stuff” Col. Actually “very profound” in a down to earth way. Your blog is awesome!!

  2. Hello Col 🙂 Oh, you’ve described me to a “T” in this post. Marta has a lovely quote on her site I read: “Think less, Feel more”. Seems as if after reading your blog the universe is trying to tell me something. Thanks for being my angel on earth, shoshana x

  3. This is a cool post! and really catchy title!

    Well, Col, don’t know if it’s my 53 year old eyes or what but I can’t see, and forgot, where I had commented on your blog!

    So I’ll tell you here!

    Yes, Col, you are entered! And now I have jotted down the two paintings you prefer beside your name!! This is exciting for me – I think giving is as much fun as (or more than) winning!! (READ the longer version of this on Sheryl’s art blog – too cool to see it is listed on the right column!

    Anyone who reads Gigablonde and visits my virtual art gallery (and comments) qualifies to win!

Leave a Reply

 
